If You Build It Green, They Will Come

NationalsThis weekend, I attended a Washington Nationals games at their relatively new ball park (it opened last year). I really enjoy watching live baseball, and attend games whenever I can while traveling. There’s something about the game, the fans and environment at baseball games that makes me feel happy to be there, in the moment.

So I found it especially cool when I learned that Nationals Park is the first Green ballpark. It is the first major league baseball stadium to be LEED Silver Certified by the U.S. Green Building Council.

They took many measures to meet the criteria for being Green. For example, they built it so that it is convenient to the train and bus systems in order to encourage people to take mass transportation. The stadium features water conserving plumbing fixtures and energy efficient light fixtures, and they used building materials that were recycled and sourced locally. There are several other features and steps they took in the process of creating this environmentally sustainable park, which you can read about on their website.

In addition, I was pleased to see several healthier food choices (something not the norm at many stadiums across the country), including veggie chili (from Ben’s Chili Bowl AND Hard Times Café), turkey burgers, and a selection of Honest Tea beverages. Of course, even though I do my best to eat healthy, I always have to buy me some peanuts and Cracker Jacks 🙂

IMG_0859Portions of this blog post appeared previously in my other blog, Becoming Your StellarSelf.

2 thoughts on “If You Build It Green, They Will Come

  1. Pingback: Silver Diamond: A Look Inside the Nation’s 1st LEED Silver Baseball Stadium « herban lifestyle

  2. Pingback: Silver Diamond: A Look Inside the Nation’s 1st LEED Silver Baseball Stadium | DC Guide

Leave a Reply

