Meatless Monday: Chickpea Meatless Loaf

One of my favorite vegetarian meals is chickpea loaf. It’s simple to make, and hearty, yet light. Chickpeas are full of fiber and I love their rich, creamy taste and texture.

  • 1 cup dried organic chick peas
  • 3 cups filtered water
  • 2 organic free-range eggs, lightly beaten
  • 2 stalks organic celery, coarsely chopped
  • 1 small organic onion, coarsely chopped
  • 1/4 cup nutritional yeast
  • sea salt, to taste
  • organic ketchup (optional)

Soak the chickpeas in water for at least 4 hours (I threw them in a bowl, covered them with water, headed off to a meeting and when I got home, they were ready!). Drain the water, then place the chickpeas in a saucepan with 3 cups of filtered water. Bring to a boil, then lower the heat and cook, covered, for about 1 hour or until the chickpeas are tender and most of the water has been absorbed.

Remove the chickpeas from the stove and mash them with a fork or potato masher until they are all broken up into little pieces. Stir in the eggs and blend well. Then add the remaining ingredients and mix thoroughly.

Place in a greased baking dish and cook uncovered at 350°F for 1 hour. Serve warm with a side salad or cooked greens. In the photo, I have a side of kale chips seasoned with curry and garlic, decorated with fresh violet flowers.

It can be a bit dry, so if you like, you can serve it with organic ketchup.

[tweetmeme source=”herbanlifestyle” service=”tinyurl.com”]

15 thoughts on “Meatless Monday: Chickpea Meatless Loaf

  1. This sounds really good! I would do a vegan version and replace each egg with a quarter cup of plain soy yogurt. If this tends to be dry then maybe an extra quarter cup would help. Adding a tablespoon of lemon juice too might make this something like “hummus loaf!”

    We use chickpeas/garbanzos to make a vegan “tuna salad” too. I wonder what this might be like with some kelp flakes and pickle relish baked in, then tartar or malt vinegar used on the side? Hmm…

    Like

    • Your ideas sound great! I think the lemon juice would give it a nice zing. I would love to see your chickpea “tuna salad” recipe – I’m always looking for new ways to use my favorite legume.

      Like

  2. It looks super easy but I know the hardest part will be to remember to soak the chick peas (20 minutes or less is my speed in the kitchen). Have you tried it with canned chick peas?

    Like

    • It can definitely be done with canned chick peas, if you don’t have the time to soak them. However, there is the issue of BPA in many can linings, so I would seek out brands that don’t use it. As an alternative, I have a quick soak method, which I use with other types of beans. Just rinse the beans and place them in a saucepan adding enough water to cover them, plus an inch or so. Bring it to a boil, and boil for about 2 minutes uncovered. Cover the saucepan and let them soak for an hour. Drain the water and cook them as if you had soaked them for hours!

      Like

      • I’m attempting this recipe this week! The simplicity of it makes it attractive and I’m hoping it will be a regular in our home. My only question is what do you do with the celery and onion? I’m thinking I’ll grate them. Or should they be coarsely chopped? It’s a ridiculous question for someone whose comfortable in the kitchen but that’s NOT me. 🙂

        Like

      • Hi Evon, It’s not a ridiculous question! You need to coarsely chop the onion and celery. Thanks for pointing that out. I’ll add it to the directions!

        Like

  3. This was awesome! I made vegetable curry the other night and had about 2 cups of cooked chick peas left and I was just munching on them, plain. So this was a perfect way to get rid of , I mean, use them!
    The only change I made was substituting the celery with steamed cauliflower. I didn’t add the yeast either (didn’t have any) I pureed 2 C of cooked Chick Peas, 1/2 head of steamed cauliflower and 2 eggs together until they were smooth. Then, added the onions and 1/4 C of coarsely chopped chick peas. And then followed your rest of the method.

    It came out really really moist and delicious!! Thank You for the recipe!

    Like

  4. I’m glad it turned out well! I love to munch on plain cooked chickpeas, too 🙂 Your adaptation sounds delicious. I have the feeling that this recipe can be adapted endlessly, with great results. Rob had some good suggestions for variations, too (see above).

    Like

  5. oh, it sounds delicious. Just today I had chickpeas with my salad. I’ve never had chickpea loaf but the recipes looks easy enough. I will have to try this, like Karen I don’t have yeast at home, so I will try preparing it without.

    Like

  6. I was *inspired* by this recipe, but I had lentils and spinach, so I used them in place of the chickpeas and celery. I also added a little cheddar cheese and italian spices, and it turned out delicious! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

