Lovely Chili Hot Chocolate with Rose Petals

photo-3

Love-Me-Dew at Shine Restaurant & Gathering Place, Boulder, CO

 

On a recent visit to Boulder, I had the pleasure of visiting one of my favorite restaurants, Shine Restaurant and Gathering Place. And one of my favorite things about Shine is their offering of “potions,” which are a “thoughtfully and lovingly concocted array of fantastic, non-alcoholic brews, using a rich assortment of herbs, vibrational-essences, juices, spices, coconut milk and natural sodas.”

This time around, I tried the Love-Me-Dew, which is coconut milk infused with cocoa, chili powder, rose petals, raspberry agave and vibrational essence of rose quartz. It is designed to enhance feelings of self-acceptance and self-love. It certainly evoked feelings of love for this drink – since I tasted it, I have been craving it! So, I thought I would try making my own version given ingredients I had around the house.

Here is my version:

  • 2 cups almond milk (best when you have time to make your own)
  • 1 tablespoon cocoa powder
  • 1 tablespoon maple syrup (more or less, depending on your taste)
  • 1/4 teaspoon ancho chili powder (Shine uses chimayo; you can use more or less, depending on how spicy you like it)
  • A few sprinkles of finely chopped dried organic rose petals for garnish (make sure you use culinary roses)

Heat the almond milk in a saucepan over medium heat until it just starts to steam. Lower the heat and add the cocoa powder, maple syrup and chili powder. Stir until well-blended and remove from heat. Divide into two ceramic mugs and sprinkle a half-teaspoon of rose petals on top of each. Share the love!

 

8 thoughts on “Lovely Chili Hot Chocolate with Rose Petals

  1. You were reading my mind! I’m pretty sure we met yesterday while shopping at MOM. I asked you what you were looking for, and you said raspberry syrup, for that chili hot chocolate you tried in CO. It sounded amazing and I wanted to make some myself. I did find a bottle of tart cherry concentrate there, and wanted to show you, but couldn’t find you again. It’s not syrup, but I wonder if that would add a good flavor anyway. Thanks so much for printing this recipe.
    I also grow my own herbs, by the way. I had a dream of starting my own little herb business last summer, but they just didn’t take off. I have a separate mint garden which went crazy, of course. Would love to hear how you got herbs to grow well here.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Wow! It’s definitely a small world, June! That’s funny you mentioned the tart cherry concentrate – my husband had just bought a bottle the day before, and I had thought about adding it to the recipe, but wasn’t sure it would work so I didn’t use it. I will have to give it a try. I hope you enjoy this recipe, and would love to hear about any adaptations you make to it. Please stay in touch!

      And that’s very cool that you grow your own herbs. Last summer, I revamped my garden because some plants didn’t do well and others did too well! It definitely depends on the weather, as some summers have been too dry and some too damp.

      Like

Leave a comment