Meatless Monday: Cheddar Black Rice Pecan Loaf Recipe

Cheddar black rice pecan loaf

I used to rely on my copy of Diet for a Small Planet for creative vegetarian meal ideas. I loved it so much that I wore it out – it literally fell apart from use. I’ve never replaced it, but several recipes have stayed in my heart and memory bank. Here is one of my favorites, which I have adapted.

You will need the following:

  • 2 cups cooked rice (I used Lundberg Black Japonica™, but short grain brown works well too)
  • 1 cup shredded organic cheddar cheese
  • 1 cup chopped pecans (I have also used walnuts)
  • 1 medium organic onion, chopped
  • 2 tablespoons nutritional yeast
  • 2 large organic eggs
  • olive oil to coat the baking dish

Preheat the oven to 350° F. Lightly coat a medium baking dish, or loaf pan, with vegetable oil.


Mix all of the ingredients, except the eggs, until well-blended, making sure that the nutritional yeast evenly coats the other ingredients.

In a separate bowl, lightly beat the eggs. Add to the rice mixture and blend well.

Evenly spread mixture in the pre-oiled baking dish/loaf pan and bake until crispy on top, about 45 minutes.

Serve with a salad for a delicious, easy, hearty meal. It makes great leftovers, if you are lucky enough to have any.

[tweetmeme source=”herbanlifestyle” service=”tinyurl.com”]

8 thoughts on “Meatless Monday: Cheddar Black Rice Pecan Loaf Recipe

  1. Yum!! Sounds gorgeous and making me hungry here. Had never heard of nutritional yeast – had to google it. Will check my local health food shop when I’m in town and try it out. Sounds like a healthier option to heaps of cheese – which I am guilty of.

    Like

    • Thanks, Maura! It is 🙂 I’ve always loved nutritional yeast (also called Brewer’s yeast). I haven’t perfected it yet, but it is possible to make amazing tasting vegan “mac and cheese” using nutritional yeast.

      Like

    • It’s one of my favorite dishes, and it’s pretty easy to make. I highly recommend it! You can leave out the nutritional yeast if you don’t have any. It just adds a little extra flavor to the dish. Bon appetite!

      Like

Leave a Reply

